Escapism: For your health.

If you have been reading my blog at all you know I touch on a lot of volatile subjects. Recently I’ve been trying to move to more happier and upbeat posts in an effort to not be so negative. Well, fortunately I am a person who goes through phases, and I think that my pallete has grown numb to politics. I still read news and form my own opinions, but for the moment I’ve grown tired of bitching about them. Maybe it’s because I’m happier these days and I no longer need to externalize my inner turmoils in the form of bitter cultural criticism. Whatever the case may be, I like writing, and I need to find new things to write about.
I’ve always been a fan of art and now technology has allowed me limitless resources for inspiration. I like working with my hands and making things, but there’s never been one “thing” that I do or make. I don’t paint, I used to draw, I’m getting into cooking, I love decorating (provided I have the money to spend), I don’t play an instrument (but I think I can sing alright)… I dunno, the point is that I need to pick something and actually invest the time and effort into getting good at it. I have this urge to create. One thing I really enjoy is repurposing things. I’ve been taking down and repairing our christmas lights here at work and I’ve been saving the burnt out little bulbs with the intent on creating a piece of art with them. I have something in mind but I’ve just been so poor lately I can’t afford to go purchase the rest of the supplies. Next month I should be able to get started on it though. I’ll post pictures when it’s done (don’t hold your breath). I also want to learn to play an instrument. I have decided I want to buy a banjo. Again though I am strapped for cash this month so it will be on the backburner for a bit…
But enough rambling about crafts- I guess the point of this post is to say that, I’m moving in a different direction. I can’t spend my days dwelling in my frustrations with the world. Stress is a killer and I don’t want to send myself to an early grave because of things I can only do so much to change. What I can do is stop feeding the media monster and just live my life. It’s time to restore some sanity.

One response

  1. I’m with you, Ariane! I feel like I’m a creative person, I’ve just let my inspiration linger for so long without acting on it. I want to paint and create jewelry and learn the violin. It’s just a matter of making the time and finding the money. Best of luck to you and your banjo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

